3 Stars, Amber Kell, Paranormal Romance, Reviewed by Jennifer, Totally Bound

Review: An Omega’s Heart by Amber Kell

Title: An Omega’s Heart (The Under Wolves: Book Two)

Author: Amber Kell

Publisher: Totally Bound

Pages/Word Count: 68 Pages

At a Glance: Short story that, for me, fell short.

Reviewed By: Jennifer

Blurb: When everything is lost, the only thing left to fight for is love.

Conley Elnon has been abused most of his life. He agrees to help the War Council in uncovering a vampire mole in exchange for having the opportunity to find his family. When he meets his mate Jacob, he leaves him in order to track a mad bomber intent on taking out shifter camps.

Jacob refuses to let his mate escape. He’s waited too long to find his fated mate to let him leave before he’s had a chance to say little more than hello. When he finds his mate in the middle of vampire territory, Jacob has to use all his skills to help his mate figure out the truth between vampires and shifters and how they are responsible for what happened to Conley’s family.

Reader Advisory: This book is best read in sequence as part of a series.

Dividers

Review: I did not read the first book in this series, which I think would have helped me understand what was happening in An Omega’s Heart between the wolves and the vampires; however, even with that, I’m not sure I would have liked the book any more than I did. I’m a fan of shifters, especially the lower ranked shifters like Conley, but this book just fell flat for me and, despite being short, I struggled to complete it.

What I did find interesting about the book was the way the vampires were portrayed. They’re hideous creatures that are able to use glamor to get human victims, but the shifters aren’t affected by that. I hadn’t seen that in a book before, and I found it interesting.

The book starts with Conley trying to find Denel, who he thinks is a shifter with ties to the vampires that took his family. He meets his mate Jacob in the process, and though he wants a mate, now is so not the right time for him to find one.

I wanted to like Conley and Jacob, but I didn’t, not really. I felt that several times in the book their characterizations were inconsistent and things felt forced between them. There were other inconsistences in characterization as well, such as Conley’s mother and the things she said versus what happened. I was confused and it bothered me. Also other little things, such as Conley being attacked with his father’s ring, and later that was changed to a knife. I wasn’t sure which story to believe. Also, the villainous characters were just too over-the-top bad guy, and I couldn’t take them seriously. Conley’s father I wanted to punch, but I saw his fate coming the minute he was introduced.

TNA_Signature_Jennifer







 

You can buy An Omega’s Heart here:

All Romance eBooks

All Romance eBooks

Standard

Leave a Reply

