Jordan L. Hawk, Self-Published

Interview with the Drakul: Mocker of Ravens by Jordan L. Hawk

Banner

There’s always fun to be had when Jordan L. Hawk lets John, Caleb and Gray come out to play, and I couldn’t be more excited to bring you this exclusive interview with your favorite drakul and mine–Gray–to celebrate the release day of the new book in the SPECTR 2 series, Mocker of Ravens.

Enjoy! And #TeamGrayleb…

divider

TNA: Welcome back to The Novel Approach, Gray. I’m so pleased Jordan arranged for you to be here with us today. And I should thank Caleb, as well, if I can pass on my regards. Is there anything you’d like to say to your audience before we get started on the interview?

Gray: Caleb says I must do this, but I do not see why, when we might be hunting demons instead. But it will please Caleb, so I shall.

:pauses:

Caleb says I am being ungrateful and rude. And also that I should greet you courteously.

Very well. Hello, mortals.

TNA: There’s much about human behavior and thinking that still confounds you. Is there any one thing, above all else, that you find particularly puzzling? What is it and why doesn’t it make sense to you?

Gray: I do not understand why so many of the mortals at SPECTR fear Caleb and me. Yes, we might have eaten them all and destroyed Charleston, but we did not. It is foolish to be afraid of things that did not actually happen.

TNA: Are you beginning to grasp mortal humor at all: sarcasm, figures of speech? Is there anything you’ve discovered in the past months that could possibly make you crack a smile?

Gray: I smile. Usually at John, when we are having sexual relations. Caleb says it is disturbing, because of the fangs, but that is nonsense.

Mortals are very strange. Their “humor” often consists of stating things which seem true but are not. It does not make sense. They should simply say what they mean.

TNA: Is there any one thing about your existence you’d change right now if you could? If so, what would it be?

Gray: I would leave behind these foolish mortals of SPECTR who so trouble John and Caleb. We would go elsewhere, and hunt demons, and copulate. It would be perfect.

TNA: Do you worry about anything at all? If so, what would that be? Or is worrying too human a pastime for you to indulge in?

Gray: Mortals waste their time worrying over things which may never come to pass, or which they cannot prevent in any case. But…yes. I do worry. About John. I wish him to be happy. I want him to be glad he chose us.

TNA: Is there anything you fear? If so, what would it be?

Gray: I fear John being injured. Or…or killed. But we will protect him against all that we may.

TNA: Now that you’re measuring time on Caleb’s schedule, do you have a favorite time of the day? What makes it so?

Gray: I still prefer the night, when there are fewer mortals about. They fear me without reason, which can be very inconvenient. It is difficult to hunt properly when there are people running about screaming and shooting at one.

TNA: Now that you can see color, do you have a favorite?

Gray: The blue of John’s eyes.

TNA: Here’s a question right out of left field: what does John taste like?

Gray: Like salt, in the summer especially. Musk and traces of soap. His blood is rust with spice. I think his blood tastes so because he is an exorcist.

TNA: And while we’re on the taste subject, does Caleb’s essence have a taste to it? If so, what does he taste like?

Gray: I do not perceive Caleb in this way. It is difficult to explain. I perceive his emotions and his memories, and the…shape of him, perhaps? The form he takes on the inside, made up of experiences and old hurts and new loves and everything else which forms us.

I cannot explain it any better than this.

TNA: Gray, thank you again for being here today. Would you like to leave readers with a parting word? Or more than one is good too.

Gray: Mortal nonsense.

divider

Blurb: Caleb has spent the last six months adjusting to life possessed by the vampire spirit Gray. Unfortunately, after the events of Fort Sumter, the other agents of SPECTR view him more as a ticking time bomb than a co-worker.

The one bright spot is Caleb and Gray’s boyfriend, federal exorcist John Starkweather. But John has problems of his own. A supernatural killer is on the loose in Charleston, stealing the hearts of its victims to extend its own unnatural life.

With the help of a rookie agent, John, Caleb, and Gray must find the killer before it strikes again…or before they become the demon’s next victims.

Buy Links: Amazon US | All Romance eBooks | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords

divider

Jordan L. HawkAbout the Author: Jordan L. Hawk grew up in North Carolina and forgot to ever leave. Childhood tales of mountain ghosts and mysterious creatures gave her a life-long love of things that go bump in the night. When she isn’t writing, she brews her own beer and tries to keep her cats from destroying the house. Her best-selling Whyborne & Griffin series (beginning with Widdershins) can be found in print, ebook, and audiobook at Amazon and other online retailers.

If you want to contact Jordan, just click the handy-dandy icons in the menu bar on my website, or send an email.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Interview with the Drakul: Mocker of Ravens by Jordan L. Hawk

  1. Marilyn says:

    Great interview, Gray. It captures your essence. I began reading this book yesterday after refreshing my memory with the previous book, “Summoner of Storms”. (Love that cover, BTW). This whole series and Jordan L. Hawk rocks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jenf27 says:

    Awesome interview! Thanks. And I think Gray does have a sense of humor in his own way. This line made me LOL: “It is difficult to hunt properly when there are people running about screaming and shooting at one.”

    I just bought the book today, but am saving if for the weekend because I know I won’t be able to stop reading once I start.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

