4.5 Stars, Dreamspinner Press, Mary Calmes, Paranormal Romance, Reviewed by Karen

Review: Forging the Future by Mary Calmes

Title:  Forging the Future (A Change of Heart Novel)

Author:  Mary Calmes

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Page/Word Count:  200 Pages

At a Glance:  This book was a fantastic ending to an awesome series!

Reviewed By:  Karen

Blurb:  Jin Church is back where he started, alone, wandering, and uncertain of his path. It’s not by choice but by circumstance, as he remembers he’s a werepanther… but not much else. He knows one thing for sure—he needs to find the beautiful blond man who haunts his dreams.

Logan Church is trapped in a living hell. His mate is missing, his tribe is falling apart, and he’s estranged from the son he loves with all his heart. His world is unraveling without his mate by his side, and he has no one to blame but himself.

If Jin can regain his memory and Logan can overcome the threats to his leadership, then perhaps they can resume their lives. The question is: Is that what they want? Back to the same house, the same tribe, the same troubles? They can choose from various roads leading to their future… or they can forge their own path.

Dividers

Review:  As soon as I saw this book come up for review, I immediately started rereading the first four books in the series. It had been awhile since I had read them, and I wanted to make sure that all the backstory was fresh in my mind.  I had forgotten how much I had loved these books, how much I love Jin and Logan and all those around them.

When the story started, right from the beginning the whirlwind of emotions started for me.  How could Logan and Jim possibly be separated again?!? Thankfully for my heart, they were reunited quickly and, of course, I just knew Jin would see Logan and immediately remember it all, but that wasn’t the case, and I was glad I was wrong. The way it played out was so much better.

One of my favorite things about most shifter type stories is the love and loyalty that forms between members of the groups, and it is shown beautifully throughout this entire series. Even those who have moved on from the day-to-day life with Logan and Jin still all look at each other as family and are only a phone call away.  I went back and forth on my rating for this one. I really wanted to give it the full 5 stars, and I think the way that the story comes together—even though in the end it is all for the best—I think that my heart was just a little too broken watching the betrayal of Logan’s family and the tribe that they had protected and loved just turn their backs on them. It crushed me.  But, in the end, Logan, Jin and their group ended up stronger, safer, happier and more content than they had been previously, so I was happy to say goodbye.

This book was a fantastic ending to an awesome series!

TNA_Signature_Karen







 

You can buy Forging the Future here:

All Romance eBooks

All Romance eBooks

Standard

2 thoughts on “Review: Forging the Future by Mary Calmes

Leave a Reply

