5 Stars, Andrew Grey, Dreamspinner Press, Genre Romance, Reviewed by Karen

Review: Fire and Ice by Andrew Grey

Title: Fire and Ice (Carlisle Cops: Book Two)

Author: Andrew Grey

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Pages/Word Count: 200 Pages

At a Glance: I have to say, from the first chapter I think the outcome of the story is pretty predictable, but, as they say, it isn’t about the destination, it’s about the journey, and that is certainly true in this case.

Reviewed By: Karen

Blurb: Carter Schunk is a dedicated police officer with a difficult past and a big heart. When he’s called to a domestic disturbance, he finds a fatally injured woman, and a child, Alex, who is in desperate need of care. Child Services is called, and the last man on earth Carter wants to see walks through the door. Carter had a fling with Donald a year ago and found him as cold as ice since it ended.

Donald (Ice) Ickle has had a hard life he shares with no one, and he’s closed his heart to all. It’s partly to keep himself from getting hurt and partly the way he deals with a job he’s good at, because he does what needs to be done without getting emotionally involved. When he meets Carter again, he maintains his usual distance, but Carter gets under his skin, and against his better judgment, Donald lets Carter guilt him into taking Alex when there isn’t other foster care available. Carter even offers to help care for the boy.

Donald has a past he doesn’t want to discuss with anyone, least of all Carter, who has his own past he’d just as soon keep to himself. But it’s Alex’s secrets that could either pull them together or rip them apart—secrets the boy isn’t able to tell them and yet could be the key to happiness for all of them.

Dividers

Review: The Carlisle Cops series are the first books I have read by Andrew Grey. I am not sure how that happened, but boy, have I been missing out. I enjoyed Fire and Ice even more than the first book, Fire and Water.

Carter and Donald are so cute together, and are even cuter with Alex. I have to say, from the first chapter I think the outcome of the story is pretty predictable, but, as they say, it isn’t about the destination, it’s about the journey, and that is certainly true in this case. I don’t think being able to guess the outcome in any way took away from the story, and I think in some ways it added to it. I found myself cheering the guys on and anxiously awaiting how it was all going to work out.

I have decided that I have turned into an even bigger sap lately, since it seems every book I read makes me teary at some point, and this one is no exception. There were sad and angry tears while reading about the guys, and how they handled Alex, and what he went through, and then later, when we finally hear Donald’s story. But, there were also happy tears when things worked out even better than I had expected.

This for me was just a really sweet story about two men not just learning to trust each other and falling in love but forming the family they always wanted, though didn’t think they would ever get. I will certainly be checking out all the other books by Andrew Grey now.

TNA_Signature_Karen







 

You can buy Fire and Ice here:

All Romance eBooks

All Romance eBooks

Standard

Leave a Reply

