3.5 Stars, Audio Book, Dreamspinner Press, Genre Romance, Narration Rating - 4 Stars, Reviewed by Karen

Audio Review: Waiting for Rain by Susan Mac Nicol – Narrated by Matthew Lloyd Davies

Title: Waiting for Rain

Author: Susan Mac Nicol

Narrator: Matthew Lloyd Davies

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Run Time: 10 hours and 17 minutes

At a Glance: The narration had me more invested in the story than I had been when I originally read it, and I am happy I gave it a chance.

Reviewed By: Karen

Blurb: The village of Stamford, the quintessential chocolate-box English scene, seemed an impossible dream for foster kid Toby Prentiss. Now he’s found a home among the haystacks and village fairs as the general manager for the Duck and Drake Hotel. With the fears and demons from his youth hidden away in this bucolic oasis, he’s very protective of who he lets in. Until he stumbles across shirtless carpenter Rain Engel building the hotel’s new custom-designed bar.

Working in the countryside, Rain prepared to face his biggest fear: sheep. He didn’t expect to deal with his second biggest fear: commitment. Toby’s controlled tough-guy façade coupled with his “find happiness where you can” optimism calls to Rain like nothing before. While Rain may be an exhibitionist, his romantic history forces him to hold his emotions close. As their relationship develops, secrets from their pasts drive a wedge between them: the ex-boyfriend who tore apart Rain’s trust and Toby’s history with the law. But can the secrets hiding among the quirky villagers bring them together? With missing sheep, pole dancing at the winter festival, and a crippling drought, everyone is waiting for Rain.

Dividers

Review: Just recently I have gotten more and more into audiobooks. Previously when choosing an audiobook to listen to, it was only books that I had already read and absolutely loved, those books that you can read over and over, and still find something new and amazing in them. Since audios were new to me, I was concerned that if I didn’t already love the story I would have a hard time staying interested and following along with the narration. Reviewing has changed this slightly. I still only get audios of books that I have already read, but now, as long as I at least liked the book, and have listened to the sample of the audio, and the narrator seems all right, I’ll give it a shot.

There have now been a couple books that weren’t my favorite, but the audiobooks made the story just that much better. Waiting for Rain is one of those books. I have really enjoyed all of Susan Mac Nicol’s books, and when I read Waiting for Rain, I enjoyed it. It just wasn’t a favorite. But Matthew Lloyd Davies’ narration, especially his voices for Toby and Rain, pulled me in and had me feeling more involved in the story and the love that developed between these guys.

Toby and Rain are super hot together, which, of course, I loved, but the story jumped around, I thought quite randomly at times, so it was the narration that had me more invested in this story than I had been when I originally read it. I’m happy I gave Waiting for Rain and Matthew Lloyd Davies a chance.

TNA_Signature_Karen

 

 

 

You can buy Waiting for Rain here:

Audible.com

Audible.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

