4 Stars, Genre Romance, Reviewed by Karen, Self-Published, Sloan Johnson

Review: Wild Pitch by Sloan Johnson

Title:  Wild Pitch (Homeruns: Book One)

Author:  Sloan Johnson

Publisher:  Self-Published

Pages/Word Count:  228 Pages

At a Glance:  Although I thought there were some slight issues with the book, I thought the writing was good and the story pretty solid. It is definitely a series that I will continue reading.

Reviewed By:  Karen

Blurb:  There’s never been any question in Sean Tucker’s mind that he’d do whatever it took to make it to the major leagues and be one of the best pitchers of his time. The day he acknowledged to himself that he was gay was also the day he vowed to stay in the closet in order to chase his dreams. The problem is, he never counted on Mason Atley.

Sean showed rookie short stop Mason Atley the ropes, both on the field and off. The two forged a friendship which continued as both of them moved through the ranks of the farm system and into the majors. Unfortunately, there’s always been one secret Mason never felt he could share with Sean. Until now.

For seven years, Sean lived with the fact that he loved a man who would never reciprocate. When Mason admits that he’s always known he’s bisexual but has never allowed himself to pursue a relationship with a man, will Sean be able to put aside his reservations about starting a relationship with the friend he’d always assumed was straight? And more importantly, will they be able to find a way to stay together when their careers keep them apart more than they can be together?

Dividers

Review:  Best Friends to Lovers…of course, I am going to love it.

This is my first book by Sloan Johnson, and I am already to jump into the sequel, Curve Ball.  I read this book in one sitting, with no desire to put it down, and I thought it got even better as the story went on.  I was a little unsure when Sean and Mason first got together; honestly, it came across a little too easy for them to just make that leap after being friends for seven years, but once past that, I really enjoyed it.

Usually sports stories aren’t my favorite, but if I had to pick a sport, it would be baseball, and although there is some of the game in the story, you certainly wouldn’t be lost if you know nothing about baseball (one of the reasons I am not usually a fan of sports books—I sometimes can’t follow the game talk).  The story was kind of predictable, I saw what was going to happen regarding Sean’s sister right away, but even predictable, if done well, can be a really good read, and this one was for me.

I am kind of wishing I had parents more like Mason’s…they were pretty awesome.  So, although I thought there were some slight issues with the book, I thought the writing was good and the story pretty solid. It is definitely a series that I will continue reading.

TNA_Signature_Karen

 

 

 

You can buy Wild Pitch here:

All Romance eBooks

All Romance eBooks

Standard

Leave a Reply

