GayRomLit, Morticia Knight, Pride Publishing

Guest Post and Exclusive Excerpt: The Countdown to GayRomLit with Morticia Knight

GRL blog tour Banner 800px

Today we’re so pleased to welcome author Morticia Knight to help us continue the countdown celebration to GayRomLit 2015 in San Diego. Morticia’s giving attendees a sneak peek at some of the cool swag she’ll have available for us, and she’s also sharing an exclusive excerpt from her new novel Building Bonds.

Enjoy!

Dividers

A big thanks to Novel Approach for hosting me today for one of my stops on the GRL blog tour! In a shocking development, I’m more organized than I’ve ever been for a Con. Even the amount of swag I have prepared is crazy. Swag is a funny thing. The amount of free items we gather when we attend an event such as this can be overwhelming. As a fangirl reader as well as author, I have a fair collection that I’ve amassed from every event I’ve gone to.

I know there’s been a bit of a backlash against paper swag because so much of it gets tossed, but I’ll confess I still enjoy getting a bookmark or postcard – particularly if it contains a blurb or tag as a reminder as to what the story is about. I’m sure most readers are like me in that they hear about tons of books on a continuous basis that they’re interested in reading, but only remember a smattering of them. I’ve added books to my wish list or had a sample sent to my kindle as a reminder – but sometimes that physical representation is a better reminder. And yes – I still use bookmarks!

But there have been many other fun and interesting goodies that have sprung up in recent years (I promise that’ll be the only double entendre I use in this post). Hunting for the premium swag might become an Olympic sport soon. From an author’s point of view, it becomes a challenge to figure out what might be cool, fun and not too expensive to buy a ton of to give away. With the pricier items it comes down to taking a big financial hit, having a severely limited first come/first served amount (Dammit. Second one.), or a free with purchase item.

All Fired Up bookmark swag

I’ve opted for the latter with my bookmark charms. The first time I saw these things I about had a meltdown, they’re so cool. They feature a book cover charm, matching beads and charms that relate to the book characters. For example, for All Fired Up, there’s a fireman’s axe and a cop’s badge. What I’m doing is offering the corresponding bookmark for free with purchase of the paperback. I had to – these things are crazy expensive, but in my opinion, too awesome not to have.

BuildingBonds flogger keychains

But I also have plenty of other items that I’ll be giving away to whoever wants them. I have some Morticia Knight ribbon bookmarks, and magnets that feature the covers of most of my books. The most popular item though, has been the mini flogger keychains. I have brand new ones for GRL that are specifically for Building Bonds, as well as Building Bonds necklaces. I can’t take credit for any of this – not even the ideas – they were all made for me. Stop by my table and grab some while you can! I’m curious, what are your favorite swag items?

Dividers

buildingbonds_800Building Bonds: Kyle’s a natural sub who builds dungeon furniture, yet has no interest in BDSM. It takes a hunky Dom to show him just what he’s been missing.

After Kyle’s partner of five years leaves him for another man on the night of their housewarming party, the shy early thirties carpenter needs to do a serious reassessment of his life in addition to raising some serious cash. With no one else to help him pay the lease on his Los Angeles condo, he worries how he’ll survive. His best friend sets up a meeting with one of the Doms and partners at Kiss of Leather, a gay BDSM Club being built as a premiere destination for those who want the best of the best.

Master Gavin not only wants the best – he demands it. When he meets Kyle, he assumes that part of the builder’s reticence to share anything personal with him must be due to his experiences with an abusive former Master. Not one to back down from a challenge, Gavin determines to break through the walls surrounding the beautiful man he can’t get out of his mind. He’s certain that once he convinces Kyle to sign an initial contract, Kyle might be the first sub to open up his heart.

Misunderstandings and accusations almost destroy everything between them before it has a chance to begin. However, the true obstacle becomes not only whether Kyle will embrace BDSM as a lifestyle, but whether he can handle a fulltime D/s relationship with a big bad scary Dom who’s as sexy as hell.

Buy links: Pride Publishing || Amazon || Amazon UK || All Romance

Dividers

Exclusive Excerpt: Gavin shut off the water then straightened. He undid what Kyle surmised was a silk dress shirt then began to remove it. There were a few spots from when he’d rubbed his face on it as he’d cried. Kyle cringed. He had no idea how expensive an item it was. Based on the whole ‘I must provide for you in all ways’ thing, he doubted he’d be allowed to replace it if it was ruined. Would he get punished for those kinds of offenses instead?

“Kyle. I don’t want to have to prod you every single time there’s something churning in your mind that you’re either wondering about or is causing you stress. I expect you to ask me at least three more things of your own accord tonight. If you don’t, I’ll add that to your punishment tomorrow.”

Damn.

“Okay. I want to replace your shirt if it’s been ruined by me crying on it, but I don’t think you’ll let me.”

Gavin nodded, his eyes narrowing. “You’re right. I won’t.”

He waited, but Gavin didn’t elaborate. “But what if I want to do it? What if it makes me feel bad if I don’t?”

“Did you do it on purpose?”

“No, of course not. I just…” He frowned. “I’m a responsible person. I like to think I own up to my mistakes.”

“I’m very happy to hear that and I believe you. There’ll be many opportunities as we work together for you to discover the veracity of that. But in regards to the shirt? I doubt it’s ruined, it likely only needs a professional cleaning.” Gavin held his hand up, undoubtedly using his super psychic Dom powers to know that Kyle was about to protest. “And I would’ve taken it to be cleaned with or without the crying. But I’m a responsible person too, Kyle. I embraced you knowing that you were crying, knowing that there might be some spots. That was my choice.” Gavin stroked his cheek with the back of his hand. “Being accountable for your actions is an important attribute, one I treasure. But don’t take responsibility for something that’s not your fault.”

“That was… Thank you.” Kyle sucked in a big gulp of air then let it out slowly, Gavin’s words lightening him somehow.

“Been blamed a lot in your life?”

Gavin lifted his tank over his head and Kyle momentarily lost his concentration. Men with broad, perfectly sculpted chests that topped defined abs had never shown him any interest before. Of course, he supposed leaving the house and socializing would’ve made it more likely to occur, but the fact remained that he’d never been with a man who was shaped like a god before. He narrowed his eyes at Gavin’s generous sized nipples.

“Boy. I asked you a question.”

“Oh. Right.” He glanced up at Gavin as he quickly ran the topic of their conversation through his mind. “Actually, now that you mention it, yes. Definitely by my dad, Roger, oh, and Dean, another guy I went out with for a while.”

“Hmm.” Gavin’s remark had come out rather growly. “You can tell me about him later.”

Kyle went back to staring at Gavin’s torso, stepping a bit closer. He’d assumed that every time Gavin had held him close that his arousal had been what had made his nipples so big and hard. However, it appeared that the barbell piercings had more to do with his pebbling than anything.

“Do you like them?”

Kyle couldn’t look away. It was so sexy. He’d never before thought that he’d want to be with a lover who had anything pierced.

Then again, BDSM used to be on the never, ever, ever list too.

Dividers

Morticia KnightAbout the Author: M/M Erotic Romance author Morticia Knight enjoys hot stories of men loving men forever after. They can be men in uniform, Doms and subs, rock stars or bikers – but they’re all searching for the one (or two!) who was meant only for them.

When not indulging in her passion for books, she loves the outdoors, film and music. Once upon a time she was the singer in an indie rock band that toured the West Coast and charted on U.S. college radio. She is currently working on more installments of Sin City Uniforms and The Hampton Road Club, as well as the follow-up to Bryan and Aubrey’s story from Rockin’ the Alternative.

Follow Morticia at: Goodreads || Amazon || Facebook || Facebook Author Page || Twitter

Standard

Leave a Reply

