5 Stars, Audio Book, Dreamspinner Press, Eli Easton, Historical Romance, Narration Rating - 5 Stars, Reviewed by Amy

Audio Review: The Lion and the Crow by Eli Easton – Narrated by Scott Richard Ehredt

Audio Gem

Title: The Lion and the Crow

Author: Eli Easton

Narrator: Scott Richard Ehredt

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Run Time: 5 hours and 3 minutes

At a Glance: If I could give this book 1000 stars, I would.

Reviewed By: Amy

Blurb: In medieval England, duty is everything, personal honor is more valued than life itself, and homosexuality is not tolerated by the church or society.

Sir Christian Brandon was raised in a household where he was hated for his unusual beauty and for his parentage. Being smaller than his six brutish half-brothers, he learned to survive by using his wits and his gift for strategy, earning him the nickname the Crow.

Sir William Corbett, a large and fierce warrior known as the Lion, has pushed his unnatural desires down all his life. He’s determined to live up to his own ideal of a gallant knight. When he takes up a quest to rescue his sister from her abusive lord of a husband, he’s forced to enlist the help of Sir Christian. It’s a partnership that will test every strand of his moral fiber, and, eventually, his understanding of the meaning of duty, honor, and love.

Dividers

Review:  If anyone knows anything about me when it comes to M/M books, it’s that I DO NOT read Historical Romance; however, this is Eli Easton we are talking about, and I have literally read every book she has written. So, I gave in and said, “Let me review this book,” and this is what I love about reviewing. I am exposed to greatness, and let me tell you, the combination of Easton’s writing ability and Scott Richard Ehredt’s narrating skills are absolute perfection. I would give this book 1000 stars, if possible.

The story is all things. It brings us this environment of life and death and honor. It does involve the whole “we can’t be gay thing,” but honestly, it didn’t bother me AT all because the author was sharing the journey of these two men, who are honorable.

Christian has been abused his whole life by his brothers, but instead of shrinking, he rose to the occasion and became a great bowman and hunter. William is an accomplished knight who is out to save his sister’s virtue. Through coincidence these two men are thrown together. This journey was the true brilliance of this story. The relationship that grows is one of, first, undeniable attraction but the sheer refusal to act on it, into respect, and eventually a love for all ages. I very seldom cry when reading a book, and Eli Easton makes me thankful for the true love stories in this world, and gives me hope through the written word.

Narration: I don’t know what to say about Scott Richard Ehredt, except pure BRILLIANCE. This man’s voice is truly gooseflesh inducing. His British accent is Sexy, Demanding, Soft, Romantic…etc. I could go on and on. All I will say is that after I listened to this audiobook, I went in search of other books narrated by him.

I put this story on par with my favorite audiobooks of all time.

TNA_Signature_Amy

 

 

 

You can buy The Lion and the Crow here:

Audible.com

Audible.com

Standard

2 thoughts on “Audio Review: The Lion and the Crow by Eli Easton – Narrated by Scott Richard Ehredt

  1. Carolyn says:

    Wow, Amy, I love the enthusiasm! :) I LOVE The Lion and the Crow and couldn’t wait for it to be on audio. I tried the sample, and I just wasn’t in the right head space to listen to it right then, so I’ve held off buying it. I’m definitely going to (and even more look forward to it now that I’ve read this). The same thing happened with I listened to Harper Fox’s Scrap Metal. I started it up and then had to wait a bit to listen. And when I did, I was blown away by the narration and the story (which I had read) and is one of my favorite audiobook experiences of this year. So, I know it’s just a quirk of mine. Still, I need reviews like this to convince my brain to let me click on that buy button. ;) So, thank you!

    Like

  2. LD Durham says:

    I want to go for this audio, but I’m not sure I gel with the narrator. I hate myself for saying this, but he sounds too old. His voice conjures the image of an old, portly man with a wet bottom lip who throws his finished dinner bones to the dogs on the floor. Or maybe Churchill. I can’t seem to get past that mental image to the love story he is trying to read. But I am now very convinced to just buy the book, itself. I’m picky about my historicals and you’ve convinced me to snap this one up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

