3 Stars, Evernight Publishing, Genre Romance, L.D. Blakeley, Reviewed by Karen

Review: Opportunity Knocks by L.D. Blakeley

Title: Opportunity Knocks (Laissez Faire: Book One)

Author: L.D. Blakeley

Publisher: Evernight Publishing

Page/Word Count: 149 Pages

At a Glance: It seemed that just when I was starting to get into Opportunity Knocks, and Gill and Tommy were finally getting together, it was over and I was left feeling that I’d missed out on something.

Reviewed By: Karen

Blurb:  Small-town security guard, Gill Martin, has lived in Mystique Pointe his entire life. His dating prospects are non-existent and he doesn’t particularly like his job, but at least it’s better than unemployment. Besides, he hasn’t got any better ideas.

Big-city artist, Tommy Hearne, knows exactly what he wants out of life: a successful art career and a successful relationship. He also knows that living in Liberty City is his best chance for pursuing both. Unfortunately, for him, neither of these pursuits seem to be panning out quite to his liking.

When Tommy and his misfit band of friends roll into town for the Laissez Faire, Mystique Pointe’s annual music & art festival, worlds definitely collide. A fiery tryst sparks more than just a lust connection, but what happens when the weekend is over?

Dividers

Review: When I read the blurb and picked up Opportunity Knocks for review, it sounded like something right up my alley, but unfortunately, I had a hard time getting into the book and connecting to the characters together.

I enjoyed the writing, and there were definitely parts of the book that I thought were great, but I really wanted more of Gill and Tommy actually together.  Now, when they were together things were sweet and super hot, but I felt there were too many other things going on. With a distance between them, on top of those other things, it was just a little too much for me, and I struggled to connect.

Then, it seemed that just when I was starting to get into the story, and Gill and Tommy were finally getting together, it was over and I was left feeling that I’d missed out on something.  Don’t get me wrong, I liked the characters, even the ones that I didn’t at first. By the end I was hoping to learn more about them. With this being the first in the series, I look forward to reading more from L.D. Blakeley, and learning more about Gill, Tommy, and this group of friends.

TNA_Signature_Karen

 

 

 

You can buy Opportunity Knocks here:

All Romance eBooks

All Romance eBooks

Standard

One thought on “Review: Opportunity Knocks by L.D. Blakeley

Leave a Reply

