2 Stars, Dreamspinner Press, Genre Romance, K.A. Mitchell, Reviewed by Karen

Review: Put a Ring on It by K.A. Mitchell

Amazon US

Amazon US

Title:  Put a Ring on It (Ready or Not: Book One) 

Author:  K.A. Mitchell

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Page/Word Count:  204 Pages

At a Glance:  I’ve really enjoyed other books by K.A. Mitchell, but unfortunately, this one just didn’t do it for me.

Reviewed By:  Karen

Blurb:  Kieran Delaney-Schwartz—adoptee, underachiever, and self-professed-slacker IT guy—lives his under-the-radar life by the motto: Don’t try, don’t fail. His adopted siblings are all overachievers thanks to his driven, liberal parents, but Kieran has elected to avoid disappointing anyone by not getting their hopes up. He’s coasting through his early twenties when he’s hit head-on by Theo. The successful decade-older Broadway producer sweeps him off his feet for a whirlwind thirteen months that are pretty sweet, until it all comes screeching to a halt on Valentine’s Day, with an unexpected proposal via an NYC Times Square flash mob.

Now everyone wants in on the wedding, except the grooms….

Dividers

Review: When I read the blurb for this book, I was really excited. I’ve enjoyed other books by K.A. Mitchell, but unfortunately, this one just didn’t do it for me. I found that I didn’t really like any of the characters…well, maybe not that I didn’t like them as much as I felt no connection to them. There have been a lot of books I’ve read where I found myself not liking a particular character, or even a main character, but I almost always come around. There is usually some kind of explanation behind the actions that turns it around for me, but I just didn’t get that with this book.

We are introduced to the four friends in the Prologue, and as I read on, there was nothing about them, other than a loyalty between them, that appealed to me. The back and forth about the marriage decision seemed to drag on, with no real explanation as to why the characters were acting the way they were, and the brief mentions of how they felt didn’t really put it into perspective for me.

There isn’t any real backstory about Theo and Kiernan’s relationship prior to the proposal, either, and it was hard for me to understand what it was they saw in each other. I didn’t feel invested in their relationship and kept waiting for everything to come together, but, in the end, Put a Ring on It just didn’t work for me.

TNA_Signature_Karen

 

 

 

You can buy Put a Ring on It here:

Amazon US

Amazon US

All Romance eBooks

All Romance eBooks

Standard

Leave a Reply

