5 Stars, Audio Book, Dreamspinner Press, Genre Romance, Mary Calmes, Narration Rating - 4.5 Stars, Reviewed by Karen

Audio Review: Mine by Mary Calmes – Narrated by Caleb Dickinson

Amazon US

Amazon US

Title:  Mine

Author:  Mary Calmes

Narrator: Caleb Dickinson

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Run Time:  7 hours and 8 minutes

At a Glance: I love when a good narration is able to bring a story I already love to life, making me love it that much more.

Reviewed By:  Karen

Blurb: Trevan Bean has a job that’s going from illegal to frightening, a boyfriend who may not be in his right mind, and a guardian angel who might actually be evil incarnate. Add to that the reappearance of his boyfriend’s estranged family, death threats, kidnapping, and the struggle of saving money to realize a dream, and Trevan has a lot on his plate. But Trevan is up to the challenge: he promised Landry a happily ever after, and Landry’s going to have it if it kills him! It just might. Landry Carter was a broken doll when they met two years ago but has grown into a partner who can stand at Trevan’s side… most of the time. Now that Trevan’s life just got scary – and Landry just got himself kidnapped – Trevan has to hope Landry’s love stays strong through this newest challenge, because the happily ever after won’t happen if Trevan has to go it alone.

Dividers

Review: I have so much love for this story, it is absolutely one of my favorites by Mary Calmes. Mine is the first narration I have listed to by Caleb Dickinson, and I really enjoyed it. Well, for the most part.  There were certain parts where Landry’s voice made me cringe and pulled me right out of the story.  I get the crazy and dramatic way Landry is, and that the narrator was really trying to get that to come across, but I think Landry’s voice was maybe just a little overdone, dramatic and crazy in some parts. It seemed to happen more in the beginning of the audiobook, and I was a little concerned, but as it the story went on, it got better for me. Though, I’m honestly not sure if the over-the-top narration didn’t happen later in the story, or if I was just so into it by that point that I didn’t notice. I am glad I stuck with it, though.

On the other hand, Trevan was spot on and exactly how I’d heard him in my head when I first read the book. The secondary character voices were also distinct enough to let me know when one character was speaking as opposed to another.

I love when a good narration is able to bring a story I already love to life, making me love it that much more.

TNA_Signature_Karen

 

 

 

You can buy Mine here:

Amazon US

Amazon US

Audible.com

Audible.com

E-book review from March 7, 2012 can be found HERE

Standard

Leave a Reply

