Andrew Q. Gordon, DSPP's Genre Talk, Giveaways

DSP Publications Presents: Genre Talk and a Giveaway with Carole Cummings and Andrew Q. Gordon

DSP Publications

Hello, all you lovely genre readers! As we do sometimes here at Genre Talk, today is a turn-the-tables day. Andrew Q. Gordon has been talking to a lot of fabulous authors and has brought you a ton of brilliant things, a very generous giveaway among them, so I’m handing the reins over to him today. Please be sure to look for the Rafflecopter widget and rules later in the post, but for now, please welcome DSP Publications spec fic author Andrew Q. Gordon!

Dividers

Purpose_headerbanner

With Purpose, my paranormal novel coming out on October 6, 2015, I thought it would be a good time to talk about just does paranormal mean. Ask, ‘what is paranormal’ and you’re going to get different answers. How do I know? Because I asked a bunch of other authors to tell me what it means to them. I also asked them to name their favorite paranormal book (one of their own and one from someone else.) I think you’ll find the answers interesting.

Since this is my post, it is best if I lead the way.

I like my paranormal without shifters and vampires. Those things are part of the paranormal universe, but they’re not what I think of when the question comes to mind. I prefer my paranormal, Supernatural like, with things that are not quite right. Think Highlander, or Charmed or Heroes. I think of Superheroes in a world where no one really knows they exist. Clearly my world view isn’t everyone’s.

I like paranormal to have a whiff of something different, but not enough to require a new universe, ala Harry Potter. Take this world, add a dash of something different, shake it around, and viola! You have type of book/show/movie/story.

Little wonder that Purpose is exactly that. My ‘world’ is our world. It draws on my observations and experiences living and working in Washington, DC. Tossed in the mix is the Spirit of Vengeance. A creature of energy that takes over humans to act as its host and requires them to exact vengeance on the guilty. There is but the one and the world as a whole is largely ignorant of its existence.

To answer the questions I asked everyone else: name two paranormal books, one of mine, one of someone else.

From me it would be Purpose. You can learn more about that below.

invisible-f-220x330From someone else, that’s really a harder question. There have been so many I’ve really enjoyed over time, but one that I’d recommend is (In)visible, by Anyta Sunday. When you read this you get a glimpse into the amazingly creative mind of one of my favorite authors. Rune is invisible to world. No one can see him unless he wants them to, except Scott. Being visible, however, has an adverse affect on people, so Rune doesn’t let people see him often. But somehow, Scott isn’t affected. He can see Rune and he doesn’t get sick.

I highly recommend the book. It’s a wonderful read and Anyta does such a great job with not only the characters, but the paranormal element.

Larry Benjamin:

What attracts me to paranormal is the stories are set in the real world, the world as we know it…with a little extra thrown in. I love the idea of the extraordinary thrown in alongside the mundane, the ordinary. And that gives us, the reader, a choice: Believe, or don’t believe, the choice is yours. My parents are West Indian so we grew up hearing stories about curses and powerful Obeah women with spirits trapped in bottles. I was born with a “caul,” and so could see ghosts, only at the time I had no idea why I was seeing people no one else could. Decades ago after returning to a trip to St Croix, I mentioned my friend and I thought we’d seen a werewolf in a field of sugar cane. My parents at once pronounced his name and said, “I can’t believe he’s still alive.”

Believe, or don’t believe, the choice is yours.

vampirerising-fVampire Rising, is an example of my own paranormal fiction. It is very much grounded in the world, albeit a world that is at once futuristic and retrospective. It is an allegorical novella very much focused on the plight of Vampires as they move among humans. That they are an allegory plays into the idea of believing and not believing, that is: are they really Vampires as we think of Vampires, meaning Vampires really exist, or are they something else, simply different, other?

Buy It: AMAZON

513+ThK+6rL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_One of my favorite paranormal books is Red Caps by Steve Berman. He an extraordinary writer, and the stories in Red Caps, allow you find romance, solve a mystery, jump into an unworldly place that is at once familiar and ordinary and remarkably different , all while teasingly telling you: Believe, or don’t believe, the choice is yours.

Another favorite paranormal book—and I have been saying this for years—is Andrew Q. Gordon’s Purpose, for all the reasons stated above. I am so happy it is being re-released giving many others a chance to discover a story that is both real and unreal, ordinary and extraordinary.

Believe, or don’t believe, the choice is yours.

Shira Anthony:

SmBloodandGhostsFSI particularly love paranormal stories that incorporate high fantasy or sci fi elements. I also love paranormal stories where the main character is thrown into a new universe/reality and we learn about the new world along with him/her. But most of all I love paranormal stories that are strongly character driven, with characters I can relate to.

One of my own paranormal books:

Blood and Rain (Blood #1) – love between a vampire and a vampire hunter with a high fantasy bent (magic, time-travel)

Buy It: AMAZON || All Romance eBooks || Dreamspinner Press

23755911One of my favorite Paranormal books would be:

Broken Ink, by Jack Pyle

Fascinating and original concept. Special ink in tattoos give the ability to control minds or be controlled by others’ thoughts. Romantic elements and a HEA, but far from a typical romance.

 

Scott Coatsworth:

51puIJJRPVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_I really like books with a paranormal or magical twist. Something that makes me think, even days later, about the story I just read.

My own story that’s closest to this is Between the Lines, where a Chief of Staff to a Republican Senator finds a medallion that lets him see what people are really saying behind their words.

Buy it: AMAZON

 

unnamed-2

 

One book I really liked in this vein was Stephen del Mar’s The Demise of Bobby and Clyde, a great little gay ghost story set in Stephen’s Bennet Bay world. Sexy and twisty-turny.

Buy it: AMAZON

 

Rick R. Reed:

What type of paranormal stories I like:

Although the genre is paranormal, I like stories that are grounded in reality. Take the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. She gives us a world populated by witches, vampires, shapeshifters, mindreaders, and more, yet they are grounded in common folk who wait tables, short order cook, and so on…you know, like real people. The grounding in reality makes the paranormal, to me, that much more compelling.

One of my paranormal books:

med_BlueMoonCafeThe Blue Moon Cafe, which I like to think is the first werewolf story that contains a homophobic werewolf killer. Here’s the blurb:

Someone–or something–is killing Seattle’s gay men.
A creature moves through the darkest night, lit only by the full moon, taking them, one by one, from the rain city’s gay gathering areas.

Someone–or something–is falling in love with Thad Matthews.

Against a backdrop of horror and fear, young Thad finds his first true love in the most unlikely of places: a new Italian restaurant called The Blue Moon Cafe. Sam is everything Thad has ever dreamed of in a man: compassionate, giving, handsome, and with brown eyes Thad feels he could sink into. And Sam can cook! But as the pair’s love begins to grow, so do the questions and uncertainties, the main one being, why do Sam’s unexplained disappearances always coincide with the full moon?

Buy it: AMAZON

51ANGe2+wML._SX338_BO1,204,203,200_And a paranormal book that’s not mine:

I already mentioned Charlaine Harris (wonderful!) but for this, I’ll stick with m/m paranormal and would give a shout-out to John Inman’s SPIRIT, which combines the paranormal with humor in an awesome way.

Buy it: AMAZON

Amy Lane:

For me, writing paranormal or fantasy stories gives human beings a great chance to explore what it means to be human. We can’t read about shape changers or elves or fantastic magical lands unless the characters resonate with us–and that means we need to look at the essence of what makes people people— whether they’re vampires, aliens, or tentacle monsters. So I love romance in my fantasy– I think it’s essential. I don’t mind sex (duh!) because it’s a human or alien/human or werewolf/human or elf/human thing, and the communication and family that is built into mating and sex is important when defining a community– large or small. I need there to be individuals in my fantasy world, and personalities in my tropes, and I need to feel that if I fell through a hole in the sky and encountered the blue-skinned, pointy-eared, warrior prince/princess of whatever tribe I’m meeting, the two of us could be friends–or enemies, or lovers–but on a personal, visceral level and not just because the prince/princess is well endowed or worships flowers or built like a brick shithouse.

Immortal-AmyLaneFS

My most reason fantasy story is called Immortal, and it’s a dark, dark fairy tale. I’ve always felt that creating another world is an opportunity to explore the more painful things in this world, and I did that in this book, possibly more than any other. My hero isn’t always nice, and he’s not always admirable, but he does redeem himself in the end.

Buy It: AMAZON

51HRDebyfzL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

I’m going back to one of my first inspirations here– Robin McKinley’s Beauty. This was a first person fairy tale retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and when I wrote my own version (Truth in the Dark) I wanted more than anything for that story to touch people’s hearts the way this story touched mine.

Buy It: AMAZON

 

Jordan Hawk:

51qYg+LGuML._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_My favorite type of paranormal stories are the ones were the paranormal element–magic, ghosts, whatever–feels integrated into the world around it. Good world building makes or breaks a paranormal for me.

When I was writing SPECTR, I spent a lot of time trying to figure what a world where people could summon demons would look like–and the reasons people would have to do it anyway, even when they ought to know better. ;) The first book, Hunter of Demons, is currently free on Amazon and elsewhere.

Get It Free: AMAZON

among-200

 

An author who does this sort of paranormal world building fantastically well is Jordan Castillo Price: her Psycop books, starting with Among the Living, blew me away.

Buy It: AMAZON

 

Cheryl Headford:

The pull of the paranormal for me is that there are no boundaries. Things that define and confine humanity no longer apply. I like paranormal stories that take the norm, even mythical norm, and twist it. I have a soft spot for vampires: always have and always will. There’s something about darkly brooding that appeals, and the whole licking and biting of necks is so sexy

HostageFor one of my own, I will stretch the definition a little, I think, and recommend my new YA Hostage. There is nothing in the book to confirm or deny that Astrin and Rowan are human at all. However, assuming they are, they have abilities that set them apart and. I believe. qualify them as being paranormal.

In the world of Hostage, there are four Houses, each associated with one of the cardinal points and its magical associations. For example, Astrin Raphael comes from the West and his house is therefore associated with ‘watery’ things. He is able to manipulate water, and has some influence over the emotions of others. House Gabriel is in the North, and its prince, Rowan Gabriel, manipulates earth.

As well as their ‘gifts’ Astrin and Rowan are able to speak to each other within their own minds, which comes in very handy after they get caught up in a revolution. Of course, by that time they’re well into their quest to locate and rescue their guardians, and are deep into enemy territory.

Buy It: AMAZON || HARMONY INK

dark_love_live_oak_cover-2 One of the best series of books I have ever read is The Live Oak Tales by Stephen Del Mar. There are all sorts – shifters, witches, gypsies, fairies and kind of a vampire. I LOVED the whole series. It’s an absolute must for all paranormal lovers. It’s extremely well written, rich in lore and fantasy and with cracking stories. They are light on the sex and heavy on the story, but what sex there is, is mindblowing. Did I mention I love them?

Buy It: LMW BOOKS

Charlie Cochet:

Hell&HighWaterHiRes300 I love all types of Paranormal stories, though I admit I’m not took crazy about horror. I love a good paranormal romance, and I’m not fussy about which creatures are involved as long as the characters draw me in.

Hell & High Water is the first book in my THIRDS series which is a paranormal series with a twist on shapeshifters.

Buy It: AMAZON

512DaW2LeFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_
There are so many amazing paranormal books out there. One of my favorite series (and I have many), is the Whyborne & Griffin series by Jordan L. Hawk, book 1 being Widdershins. Such fun books.

Buy It: AMAZON

 

Lexi Ander:

I enjoy paranormal stories that are out of the ordinary, that takes a trope and completely flips it into something fresh and exciting.

PrintOne from me would be: Dragon’s Eye which is about three of Sumeria’s sons struggling against the odds to keep their people from being irradiated by a vengeful goddess. This is the fifth book in the series that deals with the transformation of Tristan, Ushna, and Brian, and how they finally bind themselves together after spending so many lifetimes apart. There is only more more book left in the series.

Buy It: LESS THAN THREE PRESS

sotk400x600

 

Sword of the King by Megan Derr. One of my favorites where everyday humans “who bear dragon potential are stolen away and turned into beasts, their former lives lost forever. They are drugged to compliance and trained to fight in the notorious D Pits for the profit of the crime lords who breed them.” Loved the concept and the lore behind the origin of the dragons. This is part of a series (one of my favorites) but can be read as a standalone.

Buy It: AMAZON

M.A. Church:

Oh goodness, there are several types of paranormal stories I enjoy, but I’d have to say my favorite involves shifters. I’ll read just about anything with a shifter in it, lol. And while I love werewolves, my favorite types are werecats. But then, I’m a cat person so that comes as no surprise!

Out of all the paranormal books I’ve written, Trouble Comes in Threes is my favorite. The shifters, of course, are werecats.

Buy It: AMAZON

Bailey Bradford is one of my all-time favorite paranormal writers. Her world building and characters keep me turning the pages every time!

Cliff – Leopard’s Spots series (Book #12) is my absolute favorite of hers.

Buy it: PRIDE PUBLISHING

Dividers

PurposeFSPublisher: DSP Publications

Cover Artist: Angsty G

Release Date: October 6, 2015

Blurb:Forty years ago the Spirit of Vengeance—a Purpose—took William Morgan as its host, demanding he avenge the innocent by killing the guilty. Since then, Will has retreated behind Gar, a façade he uses to avoid dealing with what he’s become. Cold, impassive, and devoid of emotion, Gar goes about his life alone—until his tidy, orderly world is upended when he meets Ryan, a broken young man cast out by his family. Spurred to action for reasons he can’t understand, Gar saves Ryan from death and finds himself confronted by his humanity.

Spending time with Ryan helps Will claw out from under Gar’s shadow. He recognizes Ryan is the key to his reclaiming his humanity and facing his past. As Will struggles to control the Purpose, Ryan challenges him to rethink everything he knew about himself and the spirit that possesses him. In the process, he pushes Will to do something he hasn’t done in decades: care.

Preorder Links:

DSP PUBLICATIONS || OMNILIT

Dividers

Watch the Trailer:

Dividers

About the Author:

AQGLogo Full Size

Enjoy The Journey!

Andrew Q. Gordon wrote his first story back when yellow legal pads, ball point pens were common and a Smith Corona correctable typewriter was considered high tech. Adapting with technology, he now takes his MacBook somewhere quiet when he wants to write.

He currently lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his partner of twenty years, their young daughter and dog. In addition to dodging some very self-important D.C. ‘insiders’, Andrew uses his commute to catch up on his reading. When not working or writing, he enjoys soccer, high fantasy, baseball and seeing how much coffee he can drink in a day.

Follow Andrew:

On his website: andrewqgordon.com

On Facebook: facebook.com/andrewqugordon

On Twitter: @andrewqgordon,

Or just email him: andrewqgordon@gmail.com

Books:

From Wayward Ink Publishing:

A Closed Door

From DSP Publications:

The Last Grand Master: (Champion of the Gods – Book 1)

The Eye and the Arm: (Champion of the Gods – Book 2)

Purpose:

From Dreamspinner Press:

(Un)Masked

Self published:

Ashes of Life

Dividers

The Giveaway:

Enter to win a DSP Publications E-Book of your choice

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Standard

8 thoughts on “DSP Publications Presents: Genre Talk and a Giveaway with Carole Cummings and Andrew Q. Gordon

  1. suze294 says:

    I’m not a big paranormal fan so like you, stories have to be grounded in reality for me to really enjoy. I shall be looking at some of these in more depth, though I have read some (Widdershins)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

