5 Stars, Nash Summers, Reviewed by Jules, Self-Published, Young Adult

Review: Diamonds by Nash Summers

Amazon US

Amazon US

Title: Diamonds (Life According to Maps: Book Two)

Author: Nash Summers

Publisher: Self-Published

Pages/Word Count: 70 Pages (approx.)

At a Glance: Maps is truly special; I’ll take any glimpse into his world I can get!

Reviewed By: Jules

Blurb: Maps’ kingdom is crumbling before his eyes.

His parents are forcing him to get a job, there’s a new kid at school who won’t stop staring at him, and his best friend is too busy thinking about girls to help Maps deal with his real problems.

Worst of all,

Maps is lost.

And none of the roads on his map are leading to Lane.

Dividers

Review: Maps is back!! I was full on laughing out loud on the first page, and thought I was quite possibly going to highlight the entire book. Seriously, though, Nash Summers has done it again. Diamonds, the second book in what I hope will be a very lonnnnnnng series, will run you through all of the emotions, as did Maps. Mattie ‘Maps’ Wilson is my hero; I sincerely think I could read books about him for the rest of forever. And, the title of the series is perfection. Even though the books are each only around seventy pages in length, you truly do feel like you’re getting a crash course in ‘Life According to Maps’.

This story begins as Lane is away at baseball camp, and Maps feels very unsure as to where they left things. He’s biding his time, driving his parents and his best friend Benji crazy, as per usual, but he honestly feels unbalanced with Lane gone. As hysterical as this book is in so many places, there are also some very real emotions here…some very growing-up type things that both boys are going through. Insecurities, some thoughtless self-centeredness that is typical teenage stuff, and the all-consuming power of young love, all brilliantly showcased with the perfect combination of heart and humor.

I have to mention that we also meet a couple of new players – one in particular, Perry, who I LOVED – which makes me wonder if there really is more to come for these guys, and possibly the secondary characters. A girl can dream, right?

I’ve read quite a bit of this author’s work now, and I marvel at how well she writes such incredibly different types of books. I am absolutely a fan. All of her stuff is great – but, Maps is truly special; I’ll take any glimpse into his world I can get! Diamonds was a wonderful follow-up to the first book – I can’t recommend this series enough.

TNA_Signature_Jules

 

 

 

You can buy Diamonds here:

Amazon US

Amazon US

Standard

Leave a Reply

