Ethan Day, Giveaways

Guest Post and Giveaway: Sno Ho and Life in Fusion by Ethan Day

Sno Ho Banner

We’re so pleased to welcome Ethan Day to The Novel Approach today to chat a bit about books, characters, the re-release of his Summit City series books, Sno Ho and Life in Fusion, and, to top it all off, he’s also offering one lucky reader the chance to win THREE e-copies of the books, so be sure to click on the Rafflecopter widget to enter.

Good luck!

Dividers

Hello to all the TNA followers out there in M/M Romance-land! Thanks to those of you who were able to stop by and read this post and as always to the lovely Lisa for allowing me to take some space on the blog to celebrate the re-release of my Summit City Series, Sno Ho & Life In Fusion.

As an author with many books to my credit since first being published back in 2009, each character and story holds a special meaning for me in one way or another. Some stories are like snapshots, representing a particular time in my own personal evolution. When I go back and reread those books now, I’m inevitably transported back to a specific point in my past.

For certain books, such as At Piper’s Point, I’m revisited with the frustrations I was experiencing during the six month time frame it took me to complete that book. Most of that frustration sprang from the fact much of my own personal relationship with my real life grandmother surfaced as a result of the narrative. Cassidy dealing with the loss of Sadie brought forth many conflicting personal emotions that I’d tucked away years ago when my grandmother passed away. I’d always intended for Piper’s Point to be a bit of a tribute to my real-life Gran, who was the inspiration for Sadie, but I’d also never truly dealt with many of my own personal feelings following her death. Inevitably, the writing of Piper’s ended up being cathartic for me, in the same way most experiences which force us to deal with our own shortcomings and the subsequent emotional drama that follows, often do.

Other books stand out for different reasons, such as Second Time Lucky. Our hero from that book, Luke Landon, is a favorite because I’d based that character on a friend of mine who passed away back in the mid-nineties due to complications from HIV/AIDS. That story came easily, practically writing itself, likely because in an odd way, it was little like being allowed to spend time with my friend, Clint, once again—a bit like a reunion in a sense. I attempted to capture some of that zany energy Clint possessed, infusing that quality into his doppelganger alter-ego, Luke Landon—providing that character with the happily-ever-after that real life had robbed my friend from experiencing.

There are instances like that for each book I’ve written, to varying degrees. I don’t profess to place that much of myself into each book I write, but there is always a little piece of me that ends up being injected into every story I’ve penned. I love all my books for different reasons, and while each character that inhabits those stories becomes a very real, three-dimensional being that I get to ‘spend time’ with while writing about their love lives, some of those characters take over my world more than the others.

Once in a blue moon, a character comes along who manages to become so ingrained inside my brain that they set up permanent residence there. The protagonist from my Summit City series, Boone Daniels, is one such character for me. Boone is larger than life, a smart-ass extraordinaire, able to deflect all manner of emotional earnestness by wielding an impressive array of snark-tastic one-liners.

In other words, life is his party, though he’s perfectly happy allowing the rest of us to join in with all his fun.

While Boone certainly uses humor and sarcasm in an attempt to avoid many of those other pesky, more serious emotions, like feelings and love and anything deemed overtly schmaltzy—he also has zero fear when it comes to saying…well, pretty much anything, lol. If he thinks it, he will say it, and he never truly worries about whether or not anyone else is going to appreciate what flies out of his mouth. Some people might find that quality odd or annoying or perhaps even rude—me personally, I think its brave. There are many times in life when I think we all want to say something and don’t—possibly because we’re afraid or perhaps to prevent someone else from being hurt by our words? There are likely a great many reasons we choose to keep our mouths shut, but I fear that on many occasions we do it more than we should.

For me, Boone is a hero in that respect and as such, I wanted him to find that perfect romantic foil—the Yin to his Yang—the kind of guy who would possess the type of strength and determination to not only withstand the verbal onslaught from the king of all smart-assery, but a guy who could similarly manage to keep up with my bantery-loving hero. Thus Wade Walker was born—a man with more than mere superhero good-looks, but also an unflappable, steely determination to hold the line, digging in his heels for as long as it takes to get what he wants.

No one else on Earth can handle Boone like Wade, and vice versa. Wade has the strength and determination to keep their relationship propelled into forward motion and Boone continues to challenge Wade by never giving up on his own needs and caving in to Wade’s wants. It’s a none-too-delicate balance. Each man is able to hold true to themselves without expecting the other to alter who they are at their core while traversing the long, winding road from one-night-stand to happily-ever-after. Hopefully those of you who read their story will experience all the laughs that I did when I was writing these books and enjoy living vicariously through Boone as much as I do.

Dividers

SnoH02015_EDayBlurb for Sno Ho: Boone Daniels seems to have trouble finishing things. Along with the half dozen or so novels he’s started, only to abandon mid-way through, his love life could be best described as a series of drive-bys.

Boone has spent the past week staying at a ski lodge in the tiny mountain town of Summit City. He’s been using his time alone to write while waiting for his boyfriend to join him for their anniversary.

What happens to Boone when he winds up dumped on the eve of his one-year anniversary and ends up at a bar having one too many cocktails? Wade Walker.

Buy Link: Amazon

Dividers

LiF2015_EDayBlurb for Life in Fusion: Aspiring author, Boone Daniels, always figured love would be as easy as he was. Fresh off a whirlwind winter-vacation romance with ski-god and would-be boyfriend, Wade Walker – Boone was certain that saying goodbye would be the hardest part.

He’d survived the unconventional way in which they came together, proven himself somewhat worthy to Wade’s hometown of Summit City, and felt certain the self-imposed, six month boy-buffer would prove one thing – their fate was to be forever entwined.

Once real life settles in, Boone suffers the realization that no one ever actually said love was easy and that even after you fall, you can still break. As their two worlds collide, he begins to understand that if he can navigate the landscape of life in fusion, he just might get that happily-ever-after…after all.

Buy Link: Amazon

Dividers

THE GIVEAWAY

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Dividers

The Fine Print:

*Entrants must be 18 years or older to qualify
*Some residency restrictions may apply
*All comments must be relevant to the prompt to be eligible (when applicable)
*The Novel Approach will not be held liable for prize delivery unless otherwise specified
*Void where prohibited by law

Standard

26 thoughts on “Guest Post and Giveaway: Sno Ho and Life in Fusion by Ethan Day

    • Ethan Day says:

      Hi Susana! I’m so happy to hear I’ve made it onto your radar! My main goal with any book is entertaining the reader. With any luck, you’ll also experience some laughs along the way with these particular books. We can never have too many laughs, right? : )

      Like

    • Ethan Day says:

      Thank you so much Serena! Totally stoked that you enjoyed those books! If you loved As You Are, I think you’ll probably enjoy Boone as well. : )

      Like

  1. Andrea M says:

    I’ve read every one of your books so I’m not entering; just wanted to let everone entering that they should read all of your books asap. They are wonderful and will make you laugh just by the personality of the characters.

    Like

    • Ethan Day says:

      Thank you Andrea! That means the world to me to hear you’ve had a good time and experienced some laughs along the way with the books. I f’in love that! : )

      Like

  2. Shirley Ann Speakman says:

    Hi Ethan I’ve enjoyed reading everyone of your books and Sno Ho is one of my all time favourite books I adore Boone and Wade!

    Like

    • Ethan Day says:

      Hi Shirley, so great seeing you here! Thank you for that, I know you have been around since my ‘Gay Day’ yahoo group days! Hugs to you for sticking with me all this time : )

      Like

  3. Angela says:

    Thanks for this post, i enjoyed reading it, it is always nice to learn a bit more about the why/what and how about books and authors :) í haven’t read them yet but i’ve got Northern Star and A Token of time on my ereader and i look forward in reading them. Thanks for the giveaway chance.

    Like

    • Ethan Day says:

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read the post, Angela! Those two books deal with more serious themes out of all my titles, though you will hopefully still find some laughs and fun within the pages of Northern Star and Token. I really hope you enjoy them.

      Sno Ho and Life In Fusion are definitely more zany/romantic comedy themed over all.

      Like

  4. jenf27 says:

    I have not read any of Ethan’s books yet, but do have several on my reading list. (Northern Star, As You Are, A Token of Time) Sno Ho and Life in Fusion sound great. Thanks!

    Like

  5. I haven’t met an Ethan Day book I haven’t loved, and I’ve read them all! Sno Ho was the first real m/m romance book I read and Ethan has remained a favourite author ever since.

    Like

  6. Sno Ho/Wade & Boone are one of my favorite books/couples of all time – I’m not entering since I believe I already own everything you’ve written, but just wanted to give you a shout out :) Love you, Ethan Day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

